Posted by: Kristen Ridley | September 30, 2010

Hank Williams Jr. is a communicator?!

HankActually, Hank Williams Jr., [in case you don’t know the name] is a country musician, which I suppose makes him a communicator of sorts, but he was a pretty wild guy in his glory days, and nobody would EVER describe Hank Jr. as “politically correct” or “corporate-compatible”.

Anyway, he got me thinking the other day while I was out for my walk. I’ve got several Hank Jr. songs on my iPod, as well as a number of other country songs. And while I was walking, and listening to the lyrics of those songs it suddenly occurred to me that country songs are surprisingly applicable to what I do. Then that led to: “Say, I wonder if I could write a whole discourse about working in a corporate environment using ONLY country song titles?”

And, since I love a challenge I decided it would be fun to actually try it [now, you might suggest at this point that I have too much free time if I could spend it doing something like this, and, you might very well be right! But a) it really didn’t take as long as you might think – country songs are pretty “true-to-life”, and b) just for the record I did do this all on my own time].

Well, I didn’t manage to write the ENTIRE thing with country song titles, but I think I did a pretty good job. The words in the below paragraphs in bold italics are actual country music song titles. I had fun with this, and hope you get a smile or two from it as well. Here goes:

A day in the communicator’s life:

You know, when I came in this morning, I felt ten feet tall and bullet-proof. But somehow, by lunchtime, I was whiskey-bent and hell-bound. I always start out with the best of intentions, determined to work on your communication ‘till I get it right. All I want to do is be perfect, and I remind myself to just breathe, but some things never change.

Writing, for me – it just comes natural, but it’s the story of my life that you seem to give me what I need not a moment too soon, so that I have to remind you that I’ve got rights!

Today, I’m gonna try and change the world, or at least the approval process. If I had my way, we’d never say “leverage”, “synergy”, or “key competencies” again. And, the fact that you think you can do communications? That don’t impress me much. It’s really better when you say nothing at all.

When you tell me to just write this down, I’d love to knock the hell out of you, because what you’re asking is just plain crazy! I mean – AS IF! If you’d give me more time, well maybe, but otherwise, I have to ask: how bad do you want it?

I understand that you have to roll with it, and give a little, get a little, but sometimes I just wanna be mad. Without tequila, I think I’d probably just say: here’s a quarter, call someone who cares!

I don’t feel like you appreciate what I do around here, and some day I just might fly away, and you’re gonna miss me when I’m gone. Really – there are days when I’m ready to say: take this job and shove it! Don’t think I don’t think about it!! But, in the end, I’m unstoppable, so I will stand back up, and tomorrow I’ll do it all over again.

Thank you.

So there you have it – a snapshot of the communicator’s life in country music titles. Feel free to add in any of your own song-title-tirades if you’re so inclined – I’d love to see what you come up with! They don’t have to be country song titles – I just used that genre because it’s one I particularly enjoy.

I'd love to hear what YOU think! Please share.

Categories

