Posted by: Kristen Ridley | December 4, 2013

12 Days of Christmas – Communicator Version

Christmas drink I love Christmas!  Despite all the acquisitive, commercial nonsense, the family dramas and travel travails, debates over what to call things and whether to display things, at its foundation, this time of year is about love, and loving and celebrating with the people in our lives, however we do that, and whatever we specifically celebrate.

I also love being a communicator [which, if you are reading this you already know, but it bears repeating] so it just seems appropriate to combine two of the things I love at a wonderful time of year, for a holiday-themed post. I did this the first time several years ago and had tons of fun writing a communicator version of Virginia’s famous letter to the editor asking if there really was a Santa Claus, and then last year I wrote about how to survive the holidays and communications using the same tips.

This year, I’ve decided it’s time for a Communicator’s edition of the Twelve Days of Christmas. I have replaced each of the items from that true love person [someone with apparently unlimited funds, way too much free time on his/her hands, and very odd perspectives on good gifts!] with things that will be more familiar, and, in most cases even more irritating, than dancing ladies, leaping lords, and French hens [although, one would imagine the combination of leaping lords, and THREE DIFFERENT KINDS of birds along with the natural excretions they produce would make for a very irritating and messy combination – just sayin’!]  But getting back on topic, obviously, you should sing this – aloud or in your head, as your preference, location, and companions dictate – to the tune of the original song . . . well, mostly to the original, I did take a bit of  musical timing licence 😉

I hope you enjoy reading – or singing! – this as much as I enjoyed writing it, and I wish you all the joy of the season and a fabulous 2014!

12 Days of Communications [Comms]

On the first day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Employees who don’t care.

On the second day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the third day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the fourth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the fifth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the sixth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
IT Bandwidth roadblocks,
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the seventh day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Telling REAL stories,
IT Bandwidth roadblocks,
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the eighth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Being diplomatic,
Telling REAL stories,
IT Bandwidth roadblocks,
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the ninth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Website crashes,
Being diplomatic,
Telling REAL stories,
IT Bandwidth roadblocks
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the tenth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Idiotic buzzwords,
Website crashes,
Being diplomatic,
Telling REAL stories,
IT Bandwidth roadblocks,
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care

On the eleventh day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
Foot-in-mouth-disease,
Idiotic buzzwords,
Website crashes,
Being diplomatic,
Telling REAL stories,
IT Bandwidth roadblocks,
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

On the twelfth day of Christmas Comms gave to me:
People thinking they can write,
Foot-in-mouth-disease,
Idiotic buzzwords,
Website crashes,
Being diplomatic,
Telling REAL stories,
IT Bandwidth roadblocks,
SEVENTEEN REWRITES!
Obtuse Execs,
PowerPoint woes,
Bad grammar sins,
and employees who don’t care.

I'd love to hear what YOU think! Please share.

Categories

